Civil Service Commission

Members of the Civil Service Commission shall serve without compensation and no person shall be appointed as a member who is not a citizen of the United States and a resident of the city of La Center for at least three years immediately preceding such appointment, and must be a qualified elector of Clark County. The term of office of each commissioner shall be for a period of six years. Members of the commission shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of a majority of the City Council.

The Examiner/Secretary is appointed by the Commission.

The Commission and Examiner are responsible for administering the testing process for entry-level and lateral-level positions and setting necessary qualifications for potential police department candidates.

Interested in becoming a Civil Service Commission Member? There is a position available. Please see the linked notice.

Civil Service Commission Members

Earl Bowen, Chairperson
Term: 2017 - 2023

Rodney Sweet
Term: 2016 - 2018

Vacant Position
Term: 2013 - 2019

Civil Service Commission Examiner/Secretary

Janice Fowler
214 E. 4th Street
La Center, WA 98629

The Civil Service Rules available here apply to La Center Police Department Civil Service positions.