Planning Commission

The La Center Planning Commission consists of seven, non-paid, citizen volunteers from the City of La Center. Its goal is to serve the present and future needs of The City of La Center by being a positive link between our community and city government and to address issues and regulations affecting the health, safety and well being of all residents, both residential and commercial.

The Planning Commission’s role includes analyzing and organizing information and data relating to land use and forwarding its recommendations to the La Center City Council, which makes the final decisions. This involves matters dealing with zoning, transportation, public safety and the overall health and vitality of the city itself. The Planning Commission reviews existing policies, requests and recommendations from La Center citizens, and inquiries from owners and developers of potentially annexable properties. The Planning Commission must help guide decisions that impact the City’s budget.

The City of La Center Planning Commission meetings are held, in general, the second Tuesday of each month and are open to the public. We encourage all its citizens to attend to provide their recommendations and comments about the future of La Center.

Commission Members

Daina Mclean, Chairperson
Term: Jan. 2017 through Dec. 2021

Shirin Elkoshairi
Term: January 2021 through January 2025

Dennis Nuttbrock
Term: January 2021 through January 2025

Jeremy Smith
Term: January 2021 through January 2025

Steve Workman
Term: January 2017 through December 2021



Current Projects

Sign Code Update – Electronic Reader Boards

The City of La Center is updating its Sign Regulations contained in LCMC 8.60 pertaining to electronic reader boards and digital video displays in residential zones. The amendments primarily pertain to LCMC Section 8.60.060 and would remove the prohibition on electronic reader boards and digital video displays in residential zones under very specific criteria including that they be located on properties of at least 10 acres used as a school, limited in size to 16 square feet, turned off between the hours of 9:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. each day, and located 150 feet from the nearest residence.

• Public Hearing Notice - City Council

• LCMC 8.60.050 Amended

• LCMC 8.60.060 Amended

• Sign Code Update Hearing Notice - PlanningCommission Notice - 14 Day

• Sign Code MDNS (May 2021)

• Environmental Checklist

Shoreline Master Program (SMP)

The City of La Center is updating its Shoreline Master Program (SMP), last amended in 2013. As required by state law (RCW 90.58.080), the City is required to review and update its SMP every eight years to reflect changes in state law, changes in other City plans and regulations, and other changed circumstances. The City invites you to participate in the SMP periodic review process and welcomes your comments. The amended SMP and associated documents are provided below. Please check back for updates.

• Initial Determination

• Initial Determination - Attachment 1

• Planning Commission Public Hearing Notice

• Joint City-Ecology 30-day Comment Period

• Current, adopted Shoreline Master Program (2013)

• Draft, Amended Shoreline Master Program (April 2021)

• Draft, Amended Shoreline Administrative Provisions

• Periodic Review Checklist (2020)

Stay Connected

The City has is utilizing a CivivWeb Portal for Planning Commission and City Council meetings. Packet materials are now avaiable online by clicking the CivicWeb icon below.

Community Survey Results

Recently the Planning Commission has been asking for feedback on how the City should plan for our City's future. The survey's have been flooding in and we appreciate your feedback. Here is a link to the results from our latest three surveys regarding housing, economic development and our parks and trails.


Please contact Sarah Dollar, Permit Technician